
1) A f/k @ A 35. A1 kicks it high and deep and it is fair caught by B89 at the 
B10. While the ball was in the air, B55 cuts A11 at the B45. Team A accepts 
the penalty. 

Answer – A f/k @ 50 

Key rule reference 10-2-2d4 

Notes: 64% of the group got this right.  Key thing to remember is that there is no PSK on a 
free kick so the only enforcement spot during a kick is the previous spot.  Not going to see 
something like often.  It’s a test question for sure but the point of test questions is to get 
you looking at the rule book. 

 

2)A 3/4 @ B24. A88 runs a 5 yard hook near the numbers to the B19. The pass is 
high causing him to jump and possess the pass in the air at the B19 where he is 
hit by B2. A88 feet hit the ground at the B20 and he is taken to the ground at the 
B21. A88 never lost control of the ball at any point during the process of the 
catch. 

 

Answer – A 1/10 B19 

Key rule reference 5-1-3a exception 2.  AR 5-1-3 III 

Notes: 78% of the group got this right.  Key thing to remember: Even though the process 
of the catch isn’t complete until he’s on the ground, we give progress at the point he 
controlled the ball.  In the discussion section we ask about bobbling during the process of 
the catch.  Obviously if he’s bobbling, he’s not controlled the ball yet, so we give him 
progress only after he’s maintained control of the ball.  I think we all got this and know it 
intuitively. 

 

3) A 4/5 @ 50 and is in punt formation. B2 has his heels on the B10 awaiting the 
punt. The punt is high causing a fair catch signal by B10. The ball is coming down 
inside the 5 yard line. Seeing gunner A89 streaking towards ball to down it, B10 
peels back toward his own goalline, approaches A89 from his blindside and 
pushes A89 to the ground with arms extended at the B4. The ball bounces and 
rolls into the endzone untouched by any players. 

Answer – B 1/10 @ B2 

Key rule references 6-5-4 and 10-2-3 

Notes:  only 23% got this one right.  In fact I even selected the wrong one when creating 
the quiz (sorry about that).  First off we have an illegal block because of the fair catch 
signal.  This foul will become a 10 yard foul once PROP is approved but irrelevant as this is 
going to be half the distance anyhow.  Now the kick ended in the endzone untouched so our 
PSK spot is the 20 BUT the foul is enforce by rule 10-2-3.  10-2-3 only establishes the PSK 
spot as the basic spot.  The foul occurred behind the basic spot so 3 and 1 principle means 
we go from spot of foul…or the B4 back to the B2.  Again my apologies for selecting the 



wrong answer in the answer key and throwing everyone off.  I hope I cleared this up for 
everyone. 

 

4) A 3/3 @ A27. A88 runs a drag over the middle. As the ball arrives, B55 hits the 
receiver from the blindside with the shoulder to the chest as the ball arrives at 
the A30. The ball ricochets back from the collision of these two players and into 
the arms of A66 who advances the ball to the A31. A88 is injured on the play 
from the violent hit. 

 

Answer – A 1/10 @ A31 no fouls on the play 

Key rule references – 9-1-18 exception 2 and 7-3-11 

Notes:  53% of the group got this one right.  The key argument I heard was the it wasn’t 
apparent that the defense touched this ball and made A66 eligible to catch it.  I will grant 
that and just say this.  Picture this play in your mind and how you would see it on the 
field.  You’ve got the defense making a bang-bang play right as the ball arrives.  The ball, 
the defender shoulder and the receivers hands/body are all arriving at the same point at 
the same time.  That ball probably touches something on that defender.   

But I will grant, the question is clear so the main point is that this is NOT an illegal BSB on 
the defense because the rule explicitly exempts this action from qualifying as a foul.  
So…take the question however you want, the point of the question is to get us in the 
book. 

 

5) A ball 3/5 @ B18 with 12 seconds left in the 4th quarter and Team A down by 
1. Neither team has a timeout available. Team A decides to attempt a field goal 
on 3rd down. The kick is blocked, never crosses the neutral zone and is picked up 
by A55 who attempts to advance. He gets to the B17 when he is hit and his 
helmet pops off. There are 2 seconds when the clock is stopped because the ball 
carriers helmet comes off. 

 

Answer A 4/4 @ B17 No zap 10 available. 2 seconds on the clock starting on snap. 

Key rule references – 3-3-2d8 and 3-3-9b 

Notes: only 30% of the group got this question right.  Most thought this was a zap 10 and 
game over.  But this is a legal kick down that ends.  We know once ball has hit foot we 
are killing the clock at the end of the play.  Therefore, the helmet wasn’t the only reason 
to stop the clock.  We also know that we go on the snap when the clock stops after a legal 
kick down.  Finally we know that a kick that hasn’t crossed the NZ doesn’t break the 
continuity of downs so A gets another chance.  


